Why perspective rules: Random Photography

Opinionated meat berry
3 min readJun 7, 2023

--

I started photographing objects, things, street scenes, and mountain scenes seriously since about last summer. I took my camera outside and I only had one philosophy behind it all:

Show yourself.

I like to think that I accomplished that and continue to fulfill it. My photography doesn’t necessarily have a backstory, many parts of it are simply visual eye candy, but a lot of the ‘backstage action’ in relation to them is simply that I am not necessarily conscious of where my work goes in artistic and philosophical terms.

Photo of an airport terminal by my good friend Tony Li

It’s much like a good book, it challenges what and how but it also allows the reader to infer certain information for themselves, as such being self-aware whilst reading is of great importance.

I believe it is the same for photography, noticing your own biases and tricks your head plays on you is equally important in determining what you truly feel from a photo.

Hold on to this thing, a photo by Tony Li

I am lucky to have quite the bunch of trustworthy friends, who are all equally intruiged by my photography around campus and around… everywhere. So natrually, many of them will come up to me and ask if they can take some photos.

To them, I always say yes, unless its out of battery.

Outside an airport, by Tony Li

And there's something quite magical that comes out of this interaction, because eventually when they give it back they’re humble in saying, ‘it's probably not that good’ or ‘Thanks for the camera, it was really nice taking photos!’. And yet, the photos they take are, to me, amazing. Because they wouldn’t be in the knowledge of ratios and lines and how things line up in a photo, but they do know where they want to click the big round button to preserve that moment. And they do. The pictures above are all from my good friend Tony, he has quite the eye for perspective and enjoys the look of black and white. I didn’t necessarily give him my camera for any of these, but through giving him my camera throughout the year he's been able to use his phone to further explore these possibilities.

Top of Mt. Cardigan, photo by author.

Some people view randomness as noise, some view it as a pattern, but I view it as it is, a stimulation of everything in us to try and grasp it, but we never can. Because it isn’t nessacerily noise, nor a pattern, but we’ll figure it out eventually, right?

Enjoys these pictures, these embody a certain memory, each and every one of them.

Thanks for reading, too.

I have a big lense. Photo by Author.
Landscapeee photo by Author
More landscape Photo by author
Even more landscape Photo by Author

--

--