Photography and the age of nostalgia.

Opinionated meat berry
3 min readJan 14, 2023

--

Dear Reader,

As you may recall, I recently picked up a new hobby: Photography.

Being born in 2007, the year of the iPhone, and the release year of my personal favorite game: TF2, I have always been a “Digital Native”.

But something hit differently when I was growing up, it almost seemed like I had a hidden nostalgia for “antiques” or, at least, older things.

A Library.

Things. What are “Things”?

Everything. Game consoles, books, movies, pop culture, music… nearly all of my personality was likened to these old things from a bygone era. I never lived in the 60s-early 00s, yet something clicked inside me.

So, I liked old things, what's the big deal?

Well, there was no big deal. But I always had a feeling of grappling into the past, to this amazing, vivid past of me that I never had.

I grew up watching SMG4, the 8bit guy, and many other retro tech or retro gaming YouTubers. Through SMG4, I learned about Super Mario 64, of which amazed me with its low poly graphics and Nintendo charm. I’ve always thought of acquiring an N64 to play through those vibrant, vivid and well-crafted levels of my childhood, and I did so just a few months ago.

I played through nearly every game that has ever captured my imagination but time has washed away to the past. Super Mario 64, the original Smash Bros, Zelda: Ocarina of time! I even got a Wii to play GameCube and Wii games!

How does this relate to Photography, though?

A trail down to a house and red barn.

Well, much like writing, photography provides a perspective to a viewer that is unparalleled in metaphorical and creative ability. I absolutely love using photography as both a storytelling tool and a “cool down” device.

But there's something I’ve always chased in photography:

“The Film Look”

It’s something that goes back into the past, yet grabs my modern mind on a roller coaster ride. I mean, when I first realized I could mimic film on my Fuji and in Lightroom with my Sony, my mind was blown.

I would love to own and use a film camera someday, but that day has not come.

Santa Monica Beach, aspect ratio mimicking the Hasselblad Xpan.

The grain, the imperfect-ness of it all. I love it. Its interesting, looking down from the edge of our history, on how little some things have changed. Going back and taking photos similar to film makes one feel as if the times have changed. Yet, the same photo in its sharp and complex 42 megapixel glory results in a “meh” face.

What is film that makes it so different, I do not know, how one's mind works in our modern day is also a complete mystery to me.

Aspect ratio to mimic Xpan, Santa Monica Beach
The classic Hollywood sign

Safe to say, I want to go deeper into this rabbit hole of psychology, film, nostalgia, and this glint of modern thought.

Welcome to 2023.

Thanks for reading, reader, I shall see you soon.

--

--