Launching a Photography portfolio

Opinionated meat berry
3 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

Dear Reader,

According to my Lightroom photo library, I have accumulated about 3000–3500 photos over the course of a few months. I think they have slowly progressed from simply composed nature and urban architecture based work to a much more refined and emotionally composed wildlife and social photographs.

Here births conductoraculus.net

Photo by Joe Jia at Conductoraculus

Throughout my passion for photography, I think I have always thought about building a website to display my portfolio of photos. Recently, I decided that time was now.

Why does a 15 year old need a photography website?

This is something I get asked quite a lot. Throughout my hobbies in 3D printing, digital photography, and a slow transition into film photography, I have constantly been questioned on my age. Was I pressured into these hobbies as a kid in this ever-growingly competitive educational system? No, never. Or maybe I just do these hobbies as just a facade for some unknown purpose? No to that as well.

On a personal level, these more advanced hobbies have been what relaxed me the most, and ones that have contributed to my life in a positive way.

Photo by Joe Jia at Conductoraculus

After 3000 photos, however, I thought a better way to post my photos online and for others to see meant that I needed a more accessible and expandable way to showcase my work.

This blog's name, Conductoraculus, is based on Asianometry whom inspired much of my love of technology and was great entertainment on the treadmill. My website, created through the constant nagging of Squarespace sponsorships on Youtube, tries to combine a neat and organized view of my work without dwindling the importance of any of them.

There’s no limit on aspect ratio, photo size and gives an extra statistical layer to it all.

All of these combined is what drove me to launch a dedicated portfolio website.

I think that nothing matters more than one’s ambition to pursue a hobby.

Go get ‘em

Photo by Joe Jia at Conductoraculus
Photo by Joe Jia at Conductoraculus
Photo by Joe Jia at Conductoraculus

--

--